95th ESA Annual Meeting (August 1 -- 6, 2010)

COS 121 - Community Pattern and Dynamics III

Friday, August 6, 2010: 8:00 AM-11:30 AM
321, David L Lawrence Convention Center
Daan J. Gerla
8:00 AM
Biogeography of fungal functional groups: A global synthesis of published DNA sequences
Stephanie N. Kivlin, University of Texas; Krista L. McGuire, Barnard College, Columbia University; Christine V. Hawkes, University of Texas at Austin; Kathleen K. Treseder, University of California, Irvine
8:20 AM
Alternative transient states in community assembly: Implications for diversity and resilience
Tadashi Fukami, Stanford University; Mifuyu Nakajima, Stanford University
8:40 AM
Reconciling the Omnivory-Stability Debate
Gabriel Gellner, Colorado State University
9:20 AM
Soil resources shape local tree community structure in tropical forests
Claire Baldeck, University of Illinois; Steven W. Kembel, Université du Québec à Montréal; James W. Dalling, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
9:40 AM
9:50 AM
Interactive effects of dispersal and environmental covariation on the stability of aquatic metacommunities
Christopher F. Steiner, Wayne State University; Richard Stockwell, Wayne State University; Vidhya Kalaimani, Wayne State University; Zakaria Aqel, Wayne State University
10:10 AM
Species sorting and evolution interact to structure community composition in a simulated metacommunity
Jelena H. Pantel, KU Leuven - University of Leuven; Nicolas Loeuille, UPMC
10:30 AM
An empirical assessment of species convergence between overstory and understory trees in older forests of the Western Highland Rim, USA
James Rosson Jr., USDA Forest Service, Southern Research Station; H. R. De Selm, University of Tennessee at Knoxville
10:50 AM
Biotic and physical structure of woody patches in a Mediterranean steppe. Implications for shrub encroachment
Beatriz Amat, University of Alicante; Jordi Cortina, University of Alicante
11:10 AM
Contrasting effects of aboveground plant diversity on belowground nematode community structure
Tj Bliss, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Thomas O. Powers, University of Nebraska; Chad E. Brassil, University of Nebraska